
Saturday we spent most of the day at the falls. First we walked on the paseo superior - the higher path. So we got a great view of all the falls and got to see how big the range actually is. Then we got into jungle safari mode, hopped into the back of a touristy, uncovered truck thing, and had a tour through the forest on our way down to the river. From there we got on a boat, warterproofed up all our stuff in bags, and set out down the river to the foot of the falls. Being right there was almost overwhelming, looking up at alllll that water pouring over the cliff. we even got to go into all the mist that was billowing everywhere. It was basically like I had taken a shower we got so soaked. After eating our sack lunches on a rock right on the river by the falls and pretending to be mermaids, we walked around the paseo inferior (lower path), saw some crazy wildlife including a huge black snake and coati (crazy little buggers that steal your food, some cousin or something of a racoon), and then..... headed to El Garganta de Diablo! Dun dun dunnnn. That means devil's throat btw. To get there we had to walk on this super long boardwalk over what seemed to be endless water. I don't understand where it all comes from, it was like one endlessly wide river, but had trees and plants and little chunks of land everywhere. Garganta del Diablo is basically all this water, cascading down one huge u-shaped cliff. It was sooo loud! And every once in a while a huge cloud of water would come up and wash over us all on the boardwalk. Looking down into the middle you couldn't even see the bottom, it was all mist, and there was an awesome rainbow too!




So I think I said in my last post that Iguazu Falls were one of the seven wonders, well it's one of the seven forgotten natural wonders of the world. How many seven wonders of the world lists can there be anyways? But anywho I think I'm done traveling for a while now. Have to concentrate on school (yes study abroad students do actually do some homework sometimes) and save a little money. I had three exams recently and a paper due last week, sooo we'll see how those turn out. I'm pretty nervous actually :/ It's crazy we really only have a couple weeks of class left, the majority of my classes finish the last week in November, so I just get to chill here for a little while before coming home. And Greg comes to visit, in 32 days!!! I haven't been keeping track or anything...;)
Hope all is well back home, in the cold, hehe. It's been gorgeous here, reaching 80's a few times and sun sun sun! Thanks for all your thoughts and prayers!
un abrazo grandisimo!
Kerri
0 comments:
Post a Comment